The Oscars

With The 89th Oscars around the corner, it is my goal to watch, review, and analyze the films nominated for the category of Best Picture. During each film, I will mainly focus on the script, cinematography, effects, music/sound (my fav!), acting, directing, concept, and everything in between. Each review will end with my personal rating for the film, 1 being the worst to 10 being the best.

I’m sure you’re thinking “who is this girl to review and criticize each nominee” (ugh). Ever since I could remember, movies have always been my favorite thing. They’re what I go to when I’m happy, sad, confused, scared, anxious, in love, and feeling spicy. I was pretty much the reason why Blockbuster (RIP) was in business for so long. I have a peculiar eye for movies and a completely open mind when viewing them. I received my BA in Creative Writing and Film, so I’ve had my fair share of writing and film classes.


The nominees are as followed;

Arrival – Denis Villeneuve

Fences – Denzel Washington

Hacksaw Ridge – Mel Gibson

Hell or High Water – David Mackenzie

Hidden Figures – Theodore Melfi

La La Land – Damien Chazelle

Lion Garth Davis

Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan

Moonlight – Barry Jenkins


I would love for you to comment your opinion on not only the film, but my review as well. I’d love to hear about everyone’s opinions and everyone’s predictions for The Oscars. We’re all critics, your opinion counts just as much as mine.

Cheers!

Leave a comment